A dusty piano

This was my recent project. I made it in Cycles and rendered it with 1200 samples. Making it took me about 8 hours. I wanted to try out atmospheric lighting as well as modeling a grand piano. I got inspired to make this image by playing the piano :slight_smile: I would love to hear your thoughts.

(I’m new to BlenderArtists and this is my second post so I’m sorry if I did something wrong)

This is really very nice and nice to see some real volumetrics working well, non-faked - so good job!

Maybe the piano could be/have a bit more sharper reflectivity/glossiness. I feel like its more towards a matt varnish than the ultra, high-gloss imho? But there’s no rule saying it can’t be tha way!:slight_smile: Maybe it’s because theres not too much in the surrounding space to reflect… you haven’t used an hdri?

But overall, very nice image and solid composition - actually, is/was the composition on fire??

Can we have the render times/specs/sampling (out of interest for the volumetrics:) Thanks!

It took five hours to render on CPU with 1200 samples. But I only have a laptop to render on, which is always pretty slow. Also thank you for your kind feedback :slight_smile: I did not want to make the piano so glossy because it was supposed to look old. The scene is only lit by a spot lamp that shines through the window, not by a hdri, I think the volumetrics are not affected by the environment anyway. It only seemed to work for me with the spot lamp. I also didn’t render with any volume samples, mostly because of render times and because the image looked to foggy.

(uh, doh! I should have read the title!) Didn’t realise that was dust when viewing on my tablet, but can see it now. Very good, and i think I was wrong about the manuscript too, it’s not on fire is it, just really old,crumpled…oops
Thanks for confirming the render details too:) i think it was the uniformity of the dust which made me make that hasty perception regarding the gloss.