Character Animation Software?

Hi all, thanks for this forum.

1. I’m new to 3D.
  2. I’m interested in character creation and animation.
  3. I’m on a Mac

I was hoping that members might find it interesting to discuss character animation software and tutorials that are appropriate for beginners.

My accomplishments so far are:

1. Comfortable with MakeHuman
  2. Discovered DAZ store
  3. Very basic character animation in Cheetah3D

I’m hoping to expand my understanding of the options available to character animators, and will be grateful for anything you can teach me in that regard. Thanks!

I was hoping that members might find it interesting to discuss character animation software and tutorials that are appropriate for beginners.

As you are posting this on a blender forum, you could use blender.

Hi Richard, please note “new to 3D” and request for “appropriate for beginners”. I’m posting here because this is a big community of 3D artists. I will probably fire up Blender again when I have more experience, but for now, definitely not for beginners.

I would use Blender - it’s very good for character animation, in fact it’s very good for all sorts of animations and I do not use anything else!

You should find and study Nathan Vegdahl’s “Humane Rigging” Tutorials - very informative and basically all you will need to know for a very long time. :yes:

Cheers, Clock.

Blender is now one of the very best character animation software packages out there.

Thank you sincerely for the replies, but my question is not which animation software is the best, but which is the best for newbies.

I have Blender, have tried it, and will try it again. I’m not against Blender and am happy to accept that it is a wonderful program for experienced users. And of course the price is right. It’s all good, but not ideal for me.