Is game making as a hobby a thing?

I’ve been learning Unreal 4 and I thought that I’d be pretty happy if I never sold a single game, only that it eventually wound up being playable, and I was wondering if any of you made games for fun since it seems fairly easy to make some nice ones for cheap?

Sure its a thing! I worked in the BGE for over a year, just for the fun of it (Because lets all face it… Its fun!) before I started learning ue4 and eventually selling games.

I love the bge :slight_smile:

I tried unreal game engine 4 and could not get a simple door to open and close with it’s with blueprints.The bge is lot easier to do that with.

will it all start,s with the fun, but it end,s with cash because you note,s how good you are in making game,s and how much people love it

I think most professional game designers start out doing it as a hobby. It’s not a job that you get into looking to become rich or famous (or if you do, you won’t get far)

It is not a thing - it is a behavior.

To be honest I do not get what you mean by “is … a thing” ;). Must be a translation issue.

I’m pretty sure he means “is it recognized as something that exists with an active crowd/fanbase?” It’s a pretty common phrase to say when one is unsure of current trends. For example: Are wet Brazilian gymnastics a thing that people do? Is advanced chicken parkour semifinals a thing that exists?

I don’t use BGE, Blender for me is about the render, but I understand where you’re coming from. Back in the day I made a couple of bob out of an Amiga game (even better, someone YouTube’d is in June this year, 25 or so years later), but in the end, I released as public domain. The driver was the fun creating it, not selling. If people enjoyed it, I was happy.

Thank you for providing this explanation.

In that case: I guess the game engine sub-forum speaks for itself :smiley: (and the forums of all the other engines).