Are my render settings good enough?

Hi folks… I’m not very good with lighting and rendering but I was wondering if the pic below has good enough lighting to showcase my model? Thanks for any input you can give…

Good enough for what? Sharing, selling, trying to get a job?

Cool model and I do think it is held back a little bit by the resolution, noise (up the samples), and lighting (3 point or HDRI are possibilities).

Hi mate,

this kinda difficult modeling deserves better I think… Despite its only a CLAY render, U have to somehow focus or point the viewer in the right direction. Looks like U have some blue(ish)/green(ish) light under the model or in the front part but … the rest is only white and there is NO interest in it so…

The camera settings could be changed … ie lowered. Try to get it almost on the ground and rotate it upwards so the model will look much bigger and “fearer” if U know what I mean. Then put a stronger white light behind the model and two very weak lights to the front sides (could be some colours, for example blue and orange - looks good together) so the whole scene get a “live” and also silhouette composition which suits the machinery which probably kills U in a seconds :wink: despite its Lunar Explorer.

Sincerely, Jan

PS: If U provide a .blend file I will do the lighting for U mate. If U dont want to put it here just PM me…

@Kulligan, good enough as a render to share. I’m pretty aware of the sample issue, (as well as ton of other issues apparent), but I was just really concerned about the lighting and whether or not it is good enough to show other peeps… as in would you make fun of me because my model is horribly lit. That is all.