My first proper model

Hi all. Looking for ideas on lighting etc. Only been using blender for about 2 months now. I have no technical knowledge of composition or photography.

Thanks in advance

Hi WhamBam, I take it you own one of these instruments that’s why you modelled it. The first thing straight away is these instruments never float, and that looks brand new, so it either be in its box, on a table with a cushion, or being held, or even on a stand.

it needs an environment to be in, if you do play one of these just think where do you play it, take a picture and that’s your environment.
you don’t need that much technical knowledge, a camera phone is good enough. On you-tube there is a million videos on what everything about the cameras is, Mike Browne is ok and his voice isn’t that bad to listen to, and you will soon pick up what he saying and understand the different panels in blender and what they are, and what they used for. things like aperture settings, blades, rule of thirds, composition.

ok lighting, pop over to Greg Zaals he owns the adaptivesamples site, and produces high quality HDR’s, and he a blender geek, his node wrangler add on is a must. he has a very nice garage HDR lots of browns and yellow in it, which would help to light you scene.

not sure how to add a HDR, just ask.

Ok the model, at first it looks really nice, but there are a few points, on some of the curves, you can see straight edges, so either you not enough vertices or not enough subsurf.

Pop over to you-tube again and check out cynicat pro, you after his video on fresnel and how to put in a rim colour. Andrew Price did one as well and says he took lots of advice from cynicat pro.

There loads of great videos. blenderstack exchange has lots of information and blender nation is always showing great stuff.