Are multiple shapes bad?

Hey folks,

I’m a coder by trade that is just starting to learn Blender for very basic models needed in some of my 3D android apps using libGdx.

I went through a tutorial today that showed a chair being made. To do this, a single cube was used and it was subdivided so that the back was raised and 4 legs were pulled down. Before starting the tutorial, my expectation was that 6 cubes would be used to construct the seat, legs and back.

I’ve noticed this practice of using a single object in most tutorials and I’m trying to understand why. Is this done for performance reasons or do people just find it’s the quickest way to make the models? Is it bad practice to use multiple objects? What if my object consisted of a square base and a cylinder branch?

Thanks

It means you’ve watched bad tutorials if they didn’t specify why they modeled it as connected geometry.

No.

Most objects in Blender consist of object data, with corresponding

• object mode in the 3D view and object properties in the properties editor, and
  • edit mode in the 3D view and object data properties in the properties editor.

Mesh type objects can consist of one or multiple mesh parts. You have three options to make a model: As one object consisting of one connected geometry, as one object consisting of multiple parts without connecting the geometry (they could still intersect), or as multiple objects. Same type objects can be joined to one object (object mode, select, ctrl+J), and you can separate geometry to its own object (edit mode, select, P).

One asset doesn’t mean you make one model. Modeling stage can use multiple objects and models, and it can output multiple objects and models when those are used to produce the final usable asset.