Christina's Solo Environment Pipeline

I’m a solo artist with an interest in environments, such as those found in the Uncharted games or Witcher. I’m not aiming for game environments though, just high quality high res still images. However such environments are generally the work of many people, or a few people working for a long time, and this is just a hobby for me.

So my challenge is to produce quality work within the constraint of limited resources (time, mostly). This thread is about the exploration of a pipeline that can deliver what I want. I intend to start small and gradually work my way up to more complex scenes. I use a variety of applications. Most of my rendering lately has been done in Vue because it can create terrains/ecosystems/complex atmospheres quickly and easily, all things that it would take a solo artist far too long to create manually. I’m using Blender to model architecture, props etc, with some help from ZBrush for detail and also photogrammetry (Photoscan) for more complex objects. Most of my texturing has been done in Photoshop but I’m currently exploring Substance Designer.

Attachments

So, lot’s of talk and no action so far. Truth is I’m waiting for a tutorial DVD on Substance Designer to arrive. I later discovered I could have got it online for the same price, but I had already ordered it from Amazon. I’ve come to the conculsion that a very large part of high-quality means high-quality textures. So much of the fine detail in assets is realized with normal maps these days. Still not sure whether bump/normal/displacement is more appropriate for a particular use but I guess more experience will answer that. Certainly the render engines that implement PBR tend to prefer normal maps.