iPhone 7 Matte Black surface finish

Hello Guys!

I am relatively new to blender. I am using blender for precision modeling of products. As part of my learning process, I am currently trying to model and render the iPhone 7. I needed help in understanding how I can get the surface finish of the metal body to resemble the real one. I am attaching a few pics and links to help you guys understand exactly what I am looking for. I really hope someone can help me out! :slight_smile:

The Images attached are from: https://www.ifixit.com/Teardown/iPhone+7+Teardown/67382
There is also a good 4K video here for a close look: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0vYfAqEyGV0

Thanks!

What have you tried? Show us the progress of your model and materials, what are the problems, what do you not understand etc.

try with some simple noise and don’t try to use total black = 0 use like 0.1
and play with diffuse ad glossy roughness

happy cl

Hey guys! So sorry for not replying sooner. Precision modelling took a lot of time. But I am done now! :slight_smile: @rickyblender, I have done exactly that, used simple glossy and noise texture. But it still feels a little off. @kesonmis, I had not done much when I posted this.

The first image above has a noise texture attached to the displacement material input. The next two are simple glossy. Here is another render of the back side with some noise texture

depends how matte you want it and how much roughness bumps needed

left ex is very small bumps middle = 0
and right is strong bumps noise

happy cl

Attachments

use a mix with diffuse and glossy
should work better I think

may be try with the bump node instead of the displace

and noise at 900 seems a bit high
try to lower it and see what it gives then re adjust it

happy cl

Attachments

can you upload the back casing for testing ?

thanks
happy cl

i don’t have an I 7 phone
but looking at first pic I don’t think there is any bumps on this it looks rather flat.