Shadows Spider 2 - GPL rendering engine released

Hi. My C++ GLFW GPL rendering engine has reached a state where it has painting, PBR, SSAO, reflections, transparency, gizmos, gui and more. A video demo is avaliable here and the source is at github. Any feedback would be appreciated. My next big tasks are to improve speed and add rigging and animation.

2/6/17 - Animation / skinning

12/16/16

https://github.com/bergjones/Shadows_Spider

Nice work so far. Do you have an idea about how many hours, months and so on you have spent on this to get it this far?

Probably about a year and a half to get here, maybe 600 hours. A lot of my work didnt make it into this release, and I had to abandon some areas. Still, the work itself is its own reward. I would love to have rigging and animation in the next release.

That is great. I am not a coder. But this is something I have been real interested in lately.

When it comes to rigging and animation are there libraries you can use? Or do you have to code all of that from scratch more or less?

Maybe we can continue this privately I have a zillion questions about the process.

Yes, there’s probably some libs. Feel free to PM me.

Hmm. Is this a RT render engine or production? If production I think the addition of alembic (if not present) is more important than rigging.

Real time. I’m now working on adding Assimp support which will enable animation.

Looked at the website. Interesting. So, if you can import animation, skinning and bones does that mean there is code there to then develop rigging and skinning tools?

ehm why invest in alembic or animation, if you keep it pure a render engine you could use blender for the other part editing / animating etc, would be nice to have additional render engines in blender (eventually alembic gets to blender, and animation allready is in it plus a whole lot more).