Weird point/pucker in mesh (noob alert)

I’m a complete beginner with blender, and I’ve run into a weird issue. Right now I’m trying to model the nose part of this character. When I have no subdivide modifier on, it looks how it should:

…but when I turn the subdivide modifier on, this one strange “point” seems to jut out of nowhere:

I can only assume it’s an issue with how I’m joining the faces/vertices because I really have no idea what I’m doing. Any ideas on what’s going on here?

Also, I’ve tried a couple other ways of connecting everything in the nose area, but while I found a way that doesn’t have the issue mentioned above, it has an issue of its own. Everything looks perfect from a distance, but upon zooming in I can see an indentation or “crater” at the very tip of the nose :frowning:

I must not understand how to connect things when so many faces are coming together at one point, can anybody explain to me how to go about it? Thanks!!

Solution 1: Press A once or twice untill everything is Selected, then do W+R. This will do Remove Doubles.

Solution 2: Press Shift+F to enter FPS mode, then fly inside the model and look for wierd faces that are not supposed to be there.
Note that you will be better off with Vertex Selection Mode, as edges are invisable in Face Select mode.

Solution 3: Select every vertex in that area that is supposed to be in dead center, (were the mirror modifier meats), then go to the Mirror Modifier and click Clipping. Then move all the verteses back and forward along the X axses to make sure they snap together.
Note, you should know what Clipping does, look it up. i suggest a video for you.

If neither if these solutions helped you, then submit me the Blend File for review and we will have a closer look at it.