Lord of Oil - Render + Breakdown

Vertical crop

Full-size render

Post-pro breakdown

AO pass

Finally finished a scene I’ve been working on for a couple months. I didn’t have a very strong idea about how the finished image would look, just the general idea of a statue standing watch over the top of an endless staircase.

Blender / Cycles naturally, with a fair bit of texturing done with the Substance Suite. I used Painter’s particle brush to flow oil over the statue mesh, rather than doing a full fluid simulation. The other oil drips in the scene were controlled by a camera projection mask - each brick and flagstone is an instanced object, and I wanted to paint the entire mask at once.

Explanation of my process for the bricks below:

How I created the instanced bricks - this is an evolution of the technique I used for the floortiles in my Sulfur Crypt render (which I reused for this scene)

Sculpting on cubes, then rotating the bricks before scaling them lets you reuse the same sculpt multiple times; four initial bricks turns into 24 effective once each face is rotated to the front.

You could carry the technique further, rotating four times around the forward normal in 90-deg increments (what I did on the floortiles) before scaling, but I felt 24 bricks was plenty of variation. 96 would have been overkill.

This step is pretty straightworward. Most of the brick emitters in my scene were simply X-aligned or Y-aligned, only a few were more complicated than that. Rotating the emitter in object mode gives you a fair bit of leeway in terms of angles, and you can even get away with a little bit of warping - visible in the AO pass on the entry/exit arches.

The beam support arches were a little trickier, and I ended up mostly winging them. I’m not 100% happy with how they turned out geometry-wise, but they work well enough in the render.