Copyright question regarding recreating characters from movies

Hello, I’m relatively new to the world of 3D modelling and am looking forward to exploring further. A question popped up in my head while I was watching some tutorials.

Am I allowed to recreate a character from a movie? I don’t have a comprehensive knowledge on copyright but I know the basics that you are not allowed to distribute, publish or sell works created by someone else by your own name and other similar things. But what I’m planning to do is find reference images of the character I had in mind, recreate it in Blender and then upload the final outcome as an image online for others to see. I’m not planning to sell it or make money out of it. I want to recreate it because it sounds like a fun and challenging thing for me to do as a begineer.

If any of you know something regarding this, that’ll be helpful. I just like the idea of sharing my progress online but I need to know the rules and risks first. :smiley:

I’d say that it basically falls under the same category as drawing fanart or writing fanfiction, something which plenty of people already do and put up on the internet. Even here on these forums, you can occasionally see some 3d fan models posted. As long as you don’t sell or make money off it like you said, there shouldn’t really be a problem.

Disclaimer: Not a lawyer, take advice off the internet with caution and do some research.

That makes sense. I guess I’ll be doing further research just in case but you already pretty much answered my question. Looking forward to start 3D modelling some characters!

From my own research (and what I remember; I’m no expert),

Using for educational purposes might be okay. Tho I’m thinking a school essay with bibliography; I honestly don’t know where your purpose would fit and if it’s technically okay or not.

fanfiction technically isn’t allowed, even if you’re doing it for free! (I think).