Recommendation - Time to upgrade, but what? powerful GPU, multiple GPUs, more CPU?

Hi all,

I’m a Blender hobbyist (for now) and I’m considering upgrading my computer. So, I’m thinking about upgrading my graphics card, but I am not sure which makes more sense in terms of a Blender workstation… I’m trying to work out the best bang for the buck and would appreciate any advice. If or when I do animation stuff, I’ll probably use a farm… so my question is really about working in Blender on a daily basis.

Background: I am using a Blender 2.78 under Linux. My current machine is a dual quad-core Xeon 3.2Ghz (8 real cores) with 24GB ram… My main GPU is a Nvidia GTX 680 2GB card. (my mainboard is only PCIe v2 - not sure if that matters) In my non-scientific tests, switching between my 8 CPU cores and my GPU seems to yield similar render speeds (GPU is a couple seconds faster per frame on average)

So… I’m trying to decide which of these makes the most sense:

• Get two GTX 1050 ti 4GB cards. Replace my GTX 680. Total cost: ~$300 usd
  • Get one GTX 1060 6GB card, use 680 for display. Total cost: ~$270 usd
  • Splurge - Get one GTX 1070 8gb card, use 680 for display. Total cost: ~ $400 usd
  • Off-the-wall option - Save my money, get a dual 10-core Xeon (40 total CPU threads) and do it all on CPU. Total cost: ~$1k usd

Does the difference between 4GB on a GPU and 8GB on a GPU really that big? I have read about compositing larger scenes (I’ve not made any that big yet) but it seems like compositing + multiple fast-ish cards would be better than one really fast card with more RAM. Is it likely, as a hobbyist, that I’ll even run against the limits of a 4GB or 6GB card? Would I be better off just sidestepping the whole memory limitation issue and invest in more CPU horsepower?

Any thoughts welcome!

Jay