Nurbs Modeling Addons? How?

Hi People,

For those who don’t know me my name is Wesley Vanitou I am a CG Artist from Guadeloupe (Carribean).

I have a question about NURBS modeling. I’m pretty sure everybody knows Fusion 360, Solidworks, Freecad etc and I want to know:

• How long/hard it will be to implement proper NURBS modeling tools in Blender?
  • How many devs will be needed for this type of project ?

I am not a programmer (And don’t plan to be) but I would love to support a project like this in the long term alongside blender main dev. I know this is a thing who never will be considered by the dev team they have too many awesome works to do but it will be interesting I think.

What is your opinion about it people?

2 Likes

As a polygon and nurbs modeler I tell you to forget about this in Blender.

Over years we often tried to bring this to the BF attention but it was never given much resources.

Maya or Max for me are ideal tool because they offer you as a designer the proper tools for making
objects ranging from organic to hardedge/mechanical forms.

I think over the years here and there that from BF there was maybe an interest but their main focus
was on other valid projects with improving Blender - sadly.

Maybe look into FreeCad?

might get more in 2.8
but how much ?

see

post 439 in

https://blenderartists.org/forum/showthread.php?406129-Blender-2-8-development-thread

will have to see what we get and the tools too?

happy bl

1 Like

A pipeline for the interim: https://blenderartists.org/forum/showthread.php?412430-From-Blender-Subdivision-To-N-U-R-B-S-(IGES)-for-free ?

I’m also very interested to use Blender as a CAD/CAM tool and support for NURBS is a must for that. Maybe we can start a campain to attract some interest developer to do this?

it looks that some one is already looking into it !

which is nice

happy bl

IMO, the commercial NURBS programs such as Rhino and Alias have very long history and are very well developed.