Realistic Renders

Hello there!

I am a photographer and I am starting to integrate CG assets into my still photos. To do this, however, requires that my rendered objects/images match the quality of my images. Therefore, I have to have hyperrealistic 3D renders.

Please keep in mind that I am mostly rendering cars, planes, buildings, and other non-living objects so we are not talking humans or organic materials minus the occasional plant life.

I am wondering if blender combined with other software would do the trick or if I should consider moving to Maya or cinema 4D once I have blender skills down.

P.S. I am not sure if this thread belongs here so my apologies if this is misplaced.

I used to use Cinema 4D, and in fact was a long time advocate, having used it since V4 on the Amiga. Although the workflow is different, it’s possible to get equally good results with Blender, and in fact, because Blender is open source with an easily accessible python interface, probably easier to get the results.

On the downside, the UI is not the most intuitive (though once you get used to it you wonder why everything else doesn’t work the same), meaning the learning curve at first is much steeper than most.

My advice, give it a go for a while, watch some tutorials from the likes of Andrew Price, BornCG etc. to get you going.

At the end of the day, if it doesn’t suit you, apart from your time, what has it cost you?

Thank you so much!

I have actually been learning/using Blender for going on three months now. I have successfully modeled a car, several small objects, and other small things. The modeling is coming along quite nicely. In fact, I find myself following tutorials but branching off once I have the hang of it, which to me is a huge step.

I was just wondering if after learning blender, I should transition to a more industry standard program to produce more realistic results.

Maybe with keyshot or other outside material/rendering programs I can achieve the same results?