Need Feedback Please?

Hello, and thank you for taking notice of this thread.

I am new to this thread and have just finished learning the basics of CGI in Blender. It would be the best if anyone could leave feedback in the comments section.

This is my attempt to render a silhouette of a lizard

And this is just to show the modeling.

Attachments

I don’t want to be rude so I apologize in advance if I come across that way. I think you should think through what defines a lizard’s silhouette as a lizard’s silhouette. For me, the silhouette has too little information in it top identify it as a lizard so I would have never guessed it was a lizard. In my opinion, a lizard’s a 4-legged reptile with a long tail. From the camera’s point of view, I can’t tell if there are legs at all and how many, and I don’t see the tail because it’s hidden behind the body. My advice is to experiment with the orientation of the lizard in regard to the camera, and with the pose, until the silhouette shows everything that makes a lizard a lizard. Don’t be afraid to google lizard silhouettes for inspiration!

To add to what was already commented on, the scale reference doesn’t quite work in a silhouette. It’s what looks like a naked tree but don’t know if it’s a big lizard or if the tree is far away.

The segments on the sun and on the tree are visible, but none on the lizard so it’s not a style thing. The ground is smooth, which it wouldn’t be in a real world.

Would probably be better to put the lizard in an environment it could be found in the nature. If it’s the giant monster kind, more stuff that makes it clear it’s a giant lizard.

I haven’t stopped learning after 8 years, and I would really want to know if I could say I’ve finished learning something with such confidence. What defines the extent of basics in CGI? You took a Blender course that defined it both in content and time?

Hi!