Sperm Whale (Need Feedback)

Hello, and thank you for reading this thread.

I am new to the blender community, and it would be my utmost pleasure to receive any sort of feedback.

I am attempting to make an underwater render of a sperm whale.

This is just the modeling and the sculpting.

And this is the attempted render.

Thank you.

This is a really late response, but…

The modeling looks pretty good, but I would try moving the eye down just a little.

As for the materials, it looks like you’re using a single, SUPER large-radius SSS shader. I would look into triple-layer skin techniques, or even use a textured diffuse shader. Right now, it looks like it’s made of either foam or wax, I can’t decide which.
For the surface of the water, that should reflect whatever is going on down at the bottom. (Use the Glass shader w/ ior = 1.33 if you want a simple material.) You get to decide whether you want it to be shallow (a lot of work making a somewhat presentable ocean floor) or deep (and dark…).

Try looking up reference images for both materials, re-render, and post!

Thank you lolwel21 for the reply.

I finally had the chance to work on the project. I looked up “triple-layer skin technique” in GPU Gems 3 (since I had no idea what that was), and tried to implement some of the things I understood from there into the picture. I mixed a glossy shader and two sss shaders with different density scales to represent different layers of the skin.

This is what I got.

Using the glass shader for the surface of the water seems to be working, but the skin just looks like a diffuse shader (or is it just me?)… :frowning:

That sounds about right. If you look at some reference photos, you’ll find that real whale skin looks pretty diffuse.