Realistic Minecraft render

Hi,

Im still a novice when it comes to blender but i’ve been working on this project for a while in my free time. Im basically going for a photo realistic-ish render of minecraft.

Here’s what I used as my reference image :

Here is the Final Render :
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0Bw3t9gNebUVAWGVFLTduUklkemM
(the image file is too big to upload directly)

I’d love to know what I can improve on it to make it look even better.

Thanks in advance!

Aw that’s cute…clicks link o_o Oh…

Well my, that looks incredible! Especially compared to the original Minecraft scene, dang.

As for improvements, I would have to say brightening up the scene would help, color and brightness helps things pop!

Perhaps add actual textures to the leaves, I can’t tell if they have a texture but it appears they’re simply plain colors, but they look a little out of place.

If your system can render this; Perhaps make the grass blades more thin and increase the density, how many there are.

My final pick is the sky is a bit low res compared to the rest of the image, it’s fine but it stands out to me a bit.

Other than that this is looking amazing! I hope I helped!

Thanks for the input! Ill try to improve the lighting and the grass. I think if I add some kind of displacement to the leaves, they might look better. The thing is, this scene took 16 hours to render :stuck_out_tongue:

But i’ll see what i can do!

I suppose you used only a sun to light the scene ? Because it seems that almost no light comes from the right, which would be the reason why the shadows are so dark. If that’s the case, I suggest you use a light probe for example as background, which would light the scene from all directions in a more natural way.

Oh boy, it sounds like you’re in desperate need of a render farm. : )

Actually I used and HDRI for the lighting. My actual setup definetely isn’t optimal, but i’ll go check out that light probe thing.