Lighting tips for an arch viz night scene

Hello,

I have been learning Cycles. I have done some daytime renderings. I need to a nighttime rendering. My background is Maxwell Render. Night scenes are so easy because of the Maxwell’s physically based camera approach and real world lighting settings. But I want to do this next project with Cycles. I did a series of day renderings which turned out ok. I will post them. I started playing with the night rendering. Trying an HDRI, using the sun lamp by using the sun positioning add-on with lat and long, time of day etc… I can’t anything to look good. Just not sure how to approach this in Cycles. Any tips would be great. The night rendering will be from the same view as the daytime eye level perspective I posted below.

Here are the daytime renderings I did using Cycles.

Thanks

Why would you use sunlamp and HDRI for a nighttime render? :smiley:
What kind of specific look are you going for? I’ve have no experience in this, but I would (for a long exposure closed aperture setting) go for star and glow in post based on material ID masks of the light sources. Not sure if that would come up in window reflections.
If you have sodium based lighting, you might render out influence of those separately from any LED lighting, as colors react more differently to it than just a yellow cast. But I have no idea how it actually works.

These are actually early evening renderings, not true night images. I was trying to introduce low ambient light into the scene with sun and HDRI. Here is one of my Maxwell Render evening scenes. I would like to achieve this with Cycles. Just not sure how to start.