Page 2 of 12 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 235
  1. #21
    Member YAFU's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    2,587
    I forgot to say that here you can download Linux portable experimental build (thanks to jensverwiebe):
    https://blenderartists.org/forum/sho...79#post3171279
    Be patient, English is not my language.



  2. #22
    Originally Posted by rontarrant View Post
    Stranger things have happened. Perhaps I'm cynical—working for the government can do that to a person—but the demo didn't show (or even hint at) F12 renders, so I'm taking nothing for granted.

    Thanks for your reply.

    EDIT:
    Nope, I'm not getting any speed up. In fact, I just tried it and I'm actually getting slower render times. For my test scene, I got 1:11.43 with the official release, 1:14.68 for this experimental build.

    I turned on camera/distance culling for all objects (frustrating since it can't be done on multiple objects all at the same time) and turned those on in the Scene tab as well.

    Is there a User Preferences setting I need to turn on as well? Or is this a belated April Fool's joke?

    Go to (Sampling) and put scrambling distance to 0 .



  3. #23
    Originally Posted by Ace Dragon View Post
    Everything mentioned applies to F12 rendering as well (I don't any logic in why the devs. would choose to only speed up viewport rendering).
    Not saying this is the case but maybe they wanted to increase interactivity with viewport rendering. Most of those optimizations sound like they could potential increase biasing in the final image.



  4. #24
    Member rontarrant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    2,320
    Originally Posted by SpdB3d View Post
    Go to (Sampling) and put scrambling distance to 0 .
    Thanks, @SpdB3d.

    Okay, that's a bit better. Render time dropped from 1:03.34 to 42.34, an improvement of 21 seconds (about 33% faster).

    Any other suggestions? It would be nice to see that 10x factor.
    -Ron T.

    Asus P8P67-M; Intel i7 2600k; GTX-780; GTX-560 Ti; 16gb Patriot G2; 3 x Caviar Black; Win 7 x64



  5. #25
    Originally Posted by rontarrant View Post
    Thanks, @SpdB3d.

    Okay, that's a bit better. Render time dropped from 1:03.34 to 42.34, an improvement of 21 seconds (about 33% faster).

    Any other suggestions? It would be nice to see that 10x factor.
    Depending on the scene the AO simplify will change the speed quite dramatically. On the standard classroom at full bounces scrambling distance at 1 I went from 3 minutes to under 1:30 by doing the AO simplify



  6. #26
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    33

    Thanks!

    Thanks for making that clear, that made quite the difference!


    Originally Posted by YAFU View Post
    Nice!
    I do not know if it is clear in your video, I mention just in case for others that you are using "Scrambling distance = 0" in the experimental build (Render tab > Sampling).

    Regarding fast rendered view on viewport, for scenes with heavy Volumetrics it would be nice to have on "Simplify" options a discriminated option for Geometry > Step Size on Viewport.
    Software developer loving all 3D stuff, from the land where Blender was born

    http://3dmodelview.com



  7. #27
    Member cekuhnen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,972
    Odin

    thanks for bringing a focus on to this. I did not follow the denoise as closely.
    this is terrific news


    BTW what GPU do you use for your rendering?
    Last edited by cekuhnen; 08-Apr-17 at 12:14.
    3D Design Generalist - Faculty Industrial + Interior Design
    Chair Interior Design - Wayne State University



  8. #28
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    india
    Posts
    667
    it does not work with F12 ??????

    on viewport its like seconds and in actual rendering it goest above 1 min



  9. #29
    Member rontarrant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    2,320
    Originally Posted by LordOdin View Post
    AO simplify
    Ummm... where's that now? I've looked through Render, Render Layers, Scene, World and Object and I don't see anything labeled "AO Simplify."
    -Ron T.

    Asus P8P67-M; Intel i7 2600k; GTX-780; GTX-560 Ti; 16gb Patriot G2; 3 x Caviar Black; Win 7 x64



  10. #30
    Originally Posted by rontarrant View Post
    Ummm... where's that now? I've looked through Render, Render Layers, Scene, World and Object and I don't see anything labeled "AO Simplify."
    under simplify in the scene panel
    Sans titre.jpg



  11. #31
    robwesseling
    Guest
    Hi It seems my graphics card GT630 (a cheap 100 pounds one) supports only CUDA 2.1 I think. I am not that familiar with hardware etc. Any ideas if there will be a build with denoiser that supports Cuda 2.1 ? How about blender 2.8? Didn't I read an article about supported cuda's for 2.8?



  12. #32
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    india
    Posts
    667
    guys is it working with actual image render ???? can someone please confirm?



  13. #33
    Originally Posted by draguu View Post
    guys is it working with actual image render ???? can someone please confirm?
    It does work with f12.. If you are using ao it has a value for render and viewport



  14. #34



  15. #35
    Member rontarrant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    2,320
    Originally Posted by razin View Post
    under simplify in the scene panel
    [Scene > Simplify > AO Bounces]
    LOL! And here I was looking for "Simplify AO."

    Anyway, here are my results so far with my test scene:
    Blender Version Render Time
    2.78c official release 1:03.34
    2.78-82bcfb9 (no special settings) 1:14.68
    2.78-82bcfb9 (Scrambling Distance: 0) 42.34
    2.78-82bcfb9 (above + AO Bounces: 1) 30.45

    Okay, this is impressive. Not quite 10x, but still pretty good... almost as fast as the last renders I did in BI for my test scene (but they were only a few seconds faster, maybe three).
    And here's an example render (settings are the last entry in the table)

    Wing Beauty Shot - experimental cycles build.jpg
    Last edited by rontarrant; 08-Apr-17 at 15:07.
    -Ron T.

    Asus P8P67-M; Intel i7 2600k; GTX-780; GTX-560 Ti; 16gb Patriot G2; 3 x Caviar Black; Win 7 x64



  16. #36
    Member rontarrant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    2,320
    I was just sitting here thinking about how far 3D viewport rendering has come since I started in 3D in 1987/88, from tri-only geometry, wireframe that took nearly two minute to refresh with a mere 500 or so triangles to... well, this... near real-time rendering with 26,000+ four-sided, smooth-shaded and subdivided polygons, cast shadows, etc. etc.

    Just fricking amazing.
    -Ron T.

    Asus P8P67-M; Intel i7 2600k; GTX-780; GTX-560 Ti; 16gb Patriot G2; 3 x Caviar Black; Win 7 x64



  17. #37
    Originally Posted by cekuhnen View Post
    Odin

    thanks for bringing a focus on to this. I did not follow the denoise as closely.
    this is terrific news


    BTW what GPU do you use for your rendering?
    Well my demo doesnt have denoising.. Its a post thing so you could go 1 step farther and denoise what you saw in my demo. Also im using a single GTX 1070 in the video. I have 2 1070s and a 970



  18. #38
    Member Ace Dragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Wichita Kansas (USA)
    Posts
    27,903
    Originally Posted by rontarrant View Post
    I was just sitting here thinking about how far 3D viewport rendering has come since I started in 3D in 1987/88, from tri-only geometry, wireframe that took nearly two minute to refresh with a mere 500 or so triangles to... well, this... near real-time rendering with 26,000+ four-sided, smooth-shaded and subdivided polygons, cast shadows, etc. etc.

    Just fricking amazing.
    Even Cycles itself has advanced a lot since its initial debut in a branch (even if you just count the optimizations and sampling improvements it has seen),

    A lot of scenes that would've required 100 hours to render back then can now be done in a fraction of the time using the same hardware (at least if the CPU was used). The advances being seen in the experimental branch is poised to make the engine several times faster yet, providing that Lukas has the time to get them into a commit-ready state).

    And it's impressive that you have decided to stick with 3D for all of those years with the early limitations not scaring you off (a good chunk of BA users today were not even born yet, myself included though I entered the world not long after you started).
    Sweet Dragon dreams, lovely Dragon kisses, gorgeous Dragon hugs. How sweet would life be to romp with Dragons, teasing you with their fire and you being in their games, perhaps they can even turn you into one as well.
    Adventures in Cycles; My official sketchbook



  19. #39
    I've tested it and it's a cool feature, thank you !
    Last edited by oneloops; 08-Apr-17 at 18:33.



  20. #40
    Member janmorek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Bratislava, Slovakia
    Posts
    70
    speed.png

    Hi, it looks freaking awesome! especially limited texture size, but I have a problem when I try to use two or more GPUs. anyone else has this problem? thanks

    edit : problem is just in preview render, F12 looks good
    I´ve tested it in several scenes and it speed up my renders at least two times, great !
    Last edited by janmorek; 09-Apr-17 at 03:44.



Page 2 of 12 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •