Introduction (and some rant time)

Hi there people! i’m 3D-Fer, i come from Spain and i studied 3D Animation, videogame design and virtual environments.

So, i’ve learned blender, i’ve been using blender since then (3 years) and i just love what cycles can do. I noticed that in the school i was, they used to teach 3ds Max and zBrush, which they are a lot common in 3D industries…But somewhere, someone decided to quit that and start with Blender.

Now i can’t explain exactly what i want to say (you know, english is not my mother language, i’m angry and tired, it’s 03:00hs) but i’ll try.

It’s been 3 years since i started using blender, all this time i was searching for jobs, places, opportunities to work and improve my skills and i wasn’t able to find a single job. Everyone ask to me for 3dsMax, maya, zbrush…but not blender…when they knew i was a blender user they insta-kicked me, i felt marginated… (“sorry but we don’t use blender”)

Ok i know, i get that these programms are a lot common, used by people by decades, but nowdays i think that blender is 100% capable to do what other programs can do, at least in basics, hell, Cycles is a goddam good render engine. It’s like that poeple percieves blender as a cheap and ugly version of 3D software for being free.

And this makes me to ask a question: Why not blender? I mean, it’s like as if Blender users where pariahs, it doesn’t matter if you have a good PortFolio, it doesn’t matter if blender is capable to do whatever they want to do with 3Ds or maya. You are a blender user? Fine, you don’t get the job, no matters how good at 3D you are.

And now i’m wondering, do we have a future? Do we have a chance to work in a medium-big companies when i’m not even able to work for a small one? As far as i seen, any companies are using blender. Should i stick to Blender or should i start learning to use another software? I mean, i love Blender, i’m not gonna quit from blender, but i have to eat.