I need to code a gymbal – or, a gyroscope

I’ve been asked if I could devise a program that basically simulates a gymbal – a gyroscope. The gyroscope would be spinning in a set of three concentric rings, each one attached to the next-inner one by two points on one axis (X,Y,Z).

The idea is that this could be in a mobile device, where the accelerometer would detect how the user moved the phone or tablet, and it would move the gyro accordingly.

Well, I want to start small: just using Blender to model the thing using OpenGL graphics, and leaving “mobile device” for some other day. I think that Blender should allow me to “rough it out” fairly quickly.

I’d like pointers to Python code samples and etc. which would point me in the right direction, especially with regard to the mathematics. (I am a very experienced programmer, well-versed in Python.)

I’m visualizing that movement of the device as reported by the accelerometer would correspond to “global” movement – movement of the box, so to speak, in which the gyro sits – and that this would be translated to movements in the local coordinate space of each ring, each one of which is constrained to only-rotate and only in one of its axes. I surmise that the proper math to do this will be quaternions.

Fortunately, my description of the thing as a “gimbal” is nothing more nor less than:

a mechanism, typically consisting of rings pivoted at right angles, for keeping an instrument such as a compass or chronometer horizontal in a moving vessel or aircraft. :yes:

Undoubtedly the actual mathematics would be quaternions. Specifically to avoid (uhh …) “gimbal lock.”