WIP Institute Hallway

Hello everyone, I am pretty new to CG.

I am attempting to recreate a now abandoned institute that has completely deteriorated over the past 20 years.

My goal is to render a “then” picture of the same place.

So I have got the basic modeling of the hallway down in terms of objects, but I just can not get any realism out of this render.

It seems like no matter which way I go I can not get realistic lighting in the environment. I have tried using lamps, and objects with emission but the scene just doesn’t have any character. Am I adding too much light? Currently in the scene I am using 3 prism shapes for emission for the fluorescent light fixtures (top side parallel to the bottom of the fixture to illuminate the inside of the fixture, and the other 2 sides at 45 degree angles to illuminate the walls/floor).

Is it because of the material I am using for the walls possibly? They are all just diffuse, is I set them to semi-gloss with some texture would it yield better results? Everything just seems so flat.

I am probably the noobest of noob when it comes to this. As I look at other peoples projects it completely baffles me.

Any advise at all would be well appreciated.

I am using Cycles, 1000 sample.

Thanks