There's no way to input sRGB colors in Blender !! (yes I do know everything on CM)

I met this issue some time ago and already tried to report it but I see nothing changed yet … … …

I know there’s the RGB tab, but it works in linear space so it gives me much brighter colors than expected. Now as an artist I understand colors in the sRGB space that is used by any paint program. So I’d like 0.5,0,0 to be a middle red rather than a bright red.

I see that I can input sRGB values in the HEX field but again, I do not understand hex numbers so I always have to convert for example 255.255.255 to FFFFFF that is a PITA. So how do I input sRGB colors ? Is there a better color wheel than the default one ?

steps to reproduce the issue

• input 0.5,0,0 in the RGB field
  • flag the material shadeless so you can see the real color on the preview
  • print the screen and check the color value in a paint program, you will see it’s 188,0,0 while I need it to be 128,0,0

Either use a color picker that gives you hex values or try to use HSV values instead. Although HSV has the downside of not being standardized in any way and might give slightly different result.

But I agree that it would be nice to have color pickers in Blender that allow you to punch in numbers in selected colorspace.

Color Management >Display Device: None
http://i.imgur.com/FTAcrt6.jpg

Display device set to none does not give you right colors, instead it messes everything up. When you render with this 0.5 R as in your example, you will not get middle red out of Cycles or BI because when image is saved, it is treated as linear and sRGB transform is applied to it, resulting in not 0.5 but something around 0.7, which is clearly not what you intend to get.