Blender as virtual studio application example brainstorm eStudio

Hi all!
Im new to this forum, but I have been playing around with blender (mostly modelling and set design) for a while now. I resently started working on a project to mimic the functionality of a software called eStudio by brainstorm.

Im a film student and i have done some projects at my school where we filmed live footage while combining a virtual set with actors by using eStudio. In my own project I whant to do the same thing with open source tools. Since blender allready has alot of the functionality I need for this, it has become the primary for this.

Heres the basic plan: I have a camera whitch is filming an actor infront of a greenscreen, then I have the background for the scene open in blender (here I can add all kinds of things like animations or static backgrounds rendered with the game engine). I then combine these two images by bringing them into Open Broadcaster Studio, and woilla! I have an actor moving in a virtual environment in real time.

This all works fine with a static camera but I have had some issues with a moving camera.

First of all there is the motion tracking of the real camera to the virtual camera. My school uses Infra red cameras to track motion but I cant afford them so now ive been trying to use a MPU6050 with an arduino to capture movement. This all works ok on objects but for some reason the camera allways stays static even when parented to an object or armature.

Capturing the the translational movement is also something i havent solved yet, the MPU only captures rotation movement.

I been floating around this idea to use something similar to the mouse look logic but instead of rotation it would controll movement.

A kinect might also be someting i will explore.

Has anyone of you tried something similar or played around with Internal motion capture.