RMA Textures in Blender Internal/BGE?

Hi, so I’m pretty new to PBR textures. My game for this past BGMC was my first time using them in a game, but the map I used for the specularity/roughness was just a basic black and white map. I’m learning this is kind of a rudimentary way to go about it. There is something called an RMA map that uses the red, blue, and green channels separately to map the roughness, metallic, and AO all in one. This is the best resource I found find on this so far: http://polycount.com/discussion/153215/rma-texture

And also Connor Mckees Artist page where he uses RMA maps on some of his models: http://cadellin3d.weebly.com/textures.html

If it’s possible, how can I set up blender to read an RMA map to use in the game engine? Or is there a script that exists, or could exist to do such a thing? This could really take the graphics in the BGE to the next level without having to load 5 or 6 maps for one object.

Side note: The new BA layout is interesting. Not a huge fan right now, but I’m sure it will grow on me. It will take some time getting used to.

I generally combine maps in gimp. Here’s a gimp XCF file that has a layer setup that looks like:

If you replace the layers ‘RedTexture’ ‘BlueTexture’ and ‘GreenTexture’ with what you want your three maps to be, then you will get a map that looks like a random bunch of colors.

You can then extract them in the node editor using this node:

There is an example blend for a node shader that combined three maps into one in this post:

Wait, there’s a new BA layout? Not for me there isn’t. Something funny did happen a few days ago though…

Sweet! That should definitely work :smiley: I’m excited to test it out.

I was going to upload an image of the layout I see, but I can’t even find a place to upload images…
The color scheme is blue, grey and white with a white background and it says vBulletin at the top.