noob - need enlightenment rendering

Hi there.

I am new to Blender, not to 3D modeling in general or hardware tech.
I just did the “donut” tutorial on YouTube to get my feet wet, and I was sad to find out that even using cycles and the “optimized” modeling techniques mentioned (like modifiers and smoothing), my Xeon / Quartro workstation could not render the donut scene instantly. It took about 20 seconds.
Are you kidding me? 1 object with 1 light source? My heart sank. I have big plans!! but not if things are going to happen this slow. I got good stuff under the hood, what gives?

Please tell me… is this normal?
Am I just doing something wrong or are my expectations totally invalid?

Cheer up! You can post the scene file, images, settings,… describe your machine specs in full - for others to examine… or complain endlessly :slight_smile:
You know, everything takes time & IMO, except M6000/P6000, Quadros aren’t that fast with path tracing.

Thank you for the reply.
sry if I came across so negatively… I was just excited about my progress and future prospects, but mixed feelings/ sad my machine wasn’t performing better. I wasn’t really expecting such a technical reply, more of a “yeah, that sounds about right”
but…
since you asked, I have attached my blend file (be gentle, its my first you know) rendering layer 1 only.
Machine specs:
Xeon E3-1505M vs @ 2.8Ghz
32 GB memory
64-bit Windows 10 PRO
Nvidia Quadro M5000M

Let me know if your PC goes beyond ludicrous speed to: “instant donut” haha.
If you have more techy hardware suggestions and recommendations, I’m all ears. Internet can be spotty at my house so cloud rendering is out. I dream of render farms in the basement, but 1 donut doesn’t seem like reasonable justification for that… yet… haha. (based on your quadro comments, I’m not even sure what CPU/GPU would be best for a farm at this point)

Attachments

donut4.blend (2.14 MB)

as said, quadros and cycles dont mix.