5000€ New Workstation!

Hi everyone!

I work as a 3d freelancer and i have been having a problem working with very high resolution when compositing in blender. I finally decided to build a new workstation around blender. My budget would be max 5000e.
I can also build a new PC from old components, so don’t hesitate suggest older parts.

PC Purpose:

• Making 3D graphics and GPU rendering.
  • I have to be able to work a very well with files that are 4K-8K or even higher resolution if needed.
  • 4K compositing and 4K video editing.

I need a help to choose what parts I should by:

• Proceccor: i7 / or multiple Xeons?
  • Motherboard: I have to be able to fit easily 4 GPU cards
  • Power supply: I need good one
  • Cooling: Water or air cooling? A little bit nervous with water cooling if it leaks.
  • GPU: GTX 1018 ti or new Titan? I will move two older Titans to this new rig.
  • Memory: DDR4 / DDR3?

I found very interesting PC build with 7 GTX 1080 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9hsQmcSwGv0 :eek:

If brand is important to you, buy a Mac. Otherwise, I see no single reason to not go for Zen instead of Xeon. If you can’t wait, take a NVidia as they have the fastest card at the moment. If you can wait a little, with so much money, I would buy the next 16 cores/32 Threads Zen CPU and 2 Duo Vega cards (= 4x Vega on 2 slots). AMD cards are now much faster than the Nvidia available on the same segment and have access to the exact same features. Plus, you can continue to work while rendering with AMD, which is impossible with NVidia as the UI is way to laggy.
And again, if you prefer brands to perfs, go for a Mac, they have a lot of choice in this price segment :smiley:

Here’s a PC that is roughly similar price (using $AUD, so I accounted for price difference) that should do a pretty decent job. Doesn’t have to be followed, but is a decent base to work on.

Processor: i7 / or multiple Xeons?