Completely lost trying to UV a simple piece.

As title says. I dont have a clue what im doing wrong. I have a fairly simple piece im trying to uv. I am not a pro about uving, but i think i know enough to make a decent uv unwrap in this piece. In any case, i attached a picture of the piece and the uvs.

This is the result of the textures… totally distorted in the sides. Dont worry about the wavy aspect of the front , the piece has a multi-res and sculpt applied. But the sides… oh my, why???

As you can see this is like just a box without the upper face (it is blended inside but the unwrap should be oke), so i placed a seam a long the left side, and a made the bottom “free” to unwrap correctly.

Can someone give me a clue about how to uv this? because i placed the seams in places i think it should get me a nice unwrap, but still i get streched rotated uvs and the textures appear amazingly distorted. Thanks in advance.

Attachments

holster.blend (2.07 MB)

Always apply any object scale before unwrapping (Ctrl+A)
You don’t have to try and unwrap an object into a single island, therein lies distortions

Can someone give me a clue about how to uv this? because i placed the seams in places i think it should get me a nice unwrap, but still i get streched rotated uvs and the textures appear amazingly distorted. Thanks in advance
No blend file supplied (as you should be doing for ALL support questions) so we are unable to check your seam placement. If you get a poor result then most likely your seams placemnet is not good

I know i dont need to unwrap the whole object into an island, but this piece specifically should be able to unwrap without dividing it into parts. Besides it is going to be a holster and it is not good to see a seam in the front. Anyways, i even tried to unwrap the front and the back separatedly and the rest and i get exactly the same results. The sides appear totally way off about size and distorsion.