First go at something big

Hi,

This is my second post and I’m new to blender. I’m actually just an offshore engineer who’s been asked to make some animations to showcase our equipment. I have no background in animation or art so I’m in urgent need of feedback from people who know what they’re doing!

The boat is called the Ocean Reliance, I feel like the front of the boat is quite terrible and I’m not sure how to make it more real and less cartoon like… I’m not done with the ocean or sky I just quickly chucked that in to get a feel for what it might look like

Just basically looking for advice

Thanks for any help
Sean

Attachments

The best advice I can give you for now is to spend a lot of time researching materials. You need to get some “bump” images to distort the panels slightly - don’t do this with the mesh, just with bumps - and you need some scratches, dirt, rust, etc to make it look more realistic and make it look its actual size. There is a thread here by Witold on his Navy Dauntless aeroplane, he is the king of this stuff and you should look at his thread to see how he does it.

As far as the sea is concerned, I would increase the scale, make the waves smaller, currently it makes the ship look too small to my eyes, particularly near the horizon. You could also decrease the camera focal length to get a better impression of size through greater perspective angles.

Very good start, keep up the good work!

Cheers, Clock.

EDIT:

Here’s the link to the plane WIP https://blenderartists.org/forum/showthread.php?370606-SBD-Dauntless-(US-Navy-dive-bomber)

Looks nice. Try to get the water around the ship to splash more so it looks like it’s hitting the ship and the ship isn’t standing still on the water. Pretty nice modelling though.

Wow. That guy is insane!! Thanks for the taking the time to share that, I’ll work my way through it properly when I don’t have to do real work and can concentrate on this…