Discussion about artist's block

Hello all!

I’ve been using blender for a few years now, on and off. For about two years now, I’ve had an artist’s block. Or more like, I’m doubting myself. That doubt creates the block, so I’m not being patient with myself. The lack of patience makes me frustrated fast when I’m creating something in blender and it also prevents me from learning. At least learning in a good pace.

Have any of you had a similar problem? If so, how did you overcome it?

I would like to work in the video game industry as an artist someday but the self-doubt I have has made that dream come to an halt as well.

Let’s have a helpful discussion, to help others overcome the doubt as well if more people have the same problem. :slight_smile:

Hi Albelius,

I figure, at least for writing as a hobby, I do better when there’s less pressure.
So you could focus on a genre you know well, and/or where super-detailed background research isn’t the main part.

Analyzing and understanding the “how” and “why” behind the art you love could bring inspiration.
This is what I did for writing, and now, as long as I have characters to use, writing is sometimes both fun and automatic for me!

I’m not a pro-game-developer/artist,
but I heard indie games can be a stepping stone.

Indie game sites where you can submit 3D assets, games and demos:
itch.io <–that’s the website
gamejolt.com
there’s more sites out there.

They have forums/communities, too.
Networking is key!
(at least outside of gaming industry; I’m no pro-game-maker. Yet…?)

I’ve seen artistic looking games
(e.g. Hyper Light Drifter. Uh, that’s on Steam, which has indie games, too.)

Good luck!

Boy, it’s been a while since I posted here.