Video output VERY slow when rendering/animating mulitple scenes (movie only, no 3d)

Hi,

I’m new to basicly all of this, so I’m not sure I’m even in the right forum. If not, please move the post or point me to a better place for this problem. I am also unsure about the right terminology because its also a 3d-program and there are surely differences between “rendering” and “animating” but I don’t know what they are when it comes to movies.

I am cutting a short movie. 3 minutes (9000 frames). I have created several scenes. One for each scene of the movie. A scene looks like this, when I’m done with it. (please see picture 1)
If I hit the animation-button it renders it out the way i want at a reasonable speed (10 frames per second - give or take).

I than created another scene in which I imported all the others via “add->scene” so I can move them around, put them in the right order, watch the movie a a whole an so on. (please see picture 2)

BUT when I hit the animation-button know it crawls like hell. 1 frame per second or WORSE. I don’t understand why.

Am I doing something wrong? Isn’t this how movies are made (serious question)?

Attachments

I’m going to make the assumption that your working from a single blend file, Its a little hard to tell from your description. As a best practice Its always good to render out each individual scene first, ideally as an image sequences such as png or something similar; after that open up a completely separate blender file and use the sequence editor to bring in your image sequnces or videos (add -> image strip and hitting ctrl A will bring in the whole strip ) and cut it together then, this avoids the crazy render slow downs your experiencing.