Scary Fridge Guy (Wip)

Hey all, first time in here.

I was introduced to Blender 5 years ago but after 10 minutes of frustration I gave up. Since then I have tried getting into Blender a couple of times but with similar results. 4 weeks however, I gave it a serious shot. I watched some great turorials on Youtube by Blender Guru, set the Key layout to 3dsmax and got help from a friend who showed me the BMaxtools. And now at last, I am finally starting to get into Blender!

Ohh yeah, and I have been using 3ds max for 15 years, since version “3D Studio Max R3” So I am not completely new to the “3D game” :wink:

The model below is a full weekends work in Blender. Some minor things have taken me a very long time and I have looked up so much stuff on google but I am finally getting somewhere in Blender - huray. I still need to model the details and get the “bendy” shape but it will come, don’t worry.

Concept is by StudioBaestarts

Question 1) I still need to figure out a lot of stuff, like for instance how to model none destructively. So If I want to model all the cracks in the fridge cabinet but also want to keep the clean model. What is the best approach here? In Max I would put another edit poly modifier on top of the stack.

Question 2) What is the easiest way to reset a models transform and move the pivot point.

To Question 1) As far as I know there is no such thing as edit poly modifier in blender.
To question 2) not sure if you meant that, but you can apply the rotation and scaling values by pressing ctrl+a. To move the pivot point I normally set the 3d cursor to where I want the pivot point to be. Then in the tools panel you can find the option “set origin to”. There you can then choose the 3d cursor. I don’t know if you can manually push around the pivot point, an option would be to move the whole mesh in edit mode, but I think thats a very clumsy attempt :smiley: