Installation Issues in Kubuntu 17.04

Greetings to all,

Let me begin by asking your forgiveness for the fairly basic nature of my issue, however I am brand new to Blender and, to be honest, still fairly green in the worlds of Linux. :confused:

I am running Kubuntu 17.04 with the KDE/Plasma desktop environment 5.94. Yesterday I downloaded Blender 2.78c for Linux. I extracted the files and placed them in their folder in my home directory. I copied the .desktop file and placed it on my desktop.

When I follow the directions provided in the ReadMe file and launch Blender through its executable, it starts up normally (or at least what appears to me to be normal), however, if I try to launch Blender through its .desktop file, as I do with all of the other programs I have installed, I receive an error message from Plasma:

KDEInit could not launch Blender.
Could not open library ā€˜libkdeinit5_blenderā€™
Cannot load library libkdeinit5_blender:Cannot open shared object file:No such file or directory.

The error message indicates a problem loading a dynamic library because Kubuntu (in my case) doesnā€™t know where to find it. I have tried to correct the issue by setting the environmental variable LD_LIBRARY_PATH for Blender by creating a .conf file named (amazingly enough) blender.conf in the directory /etc/ld.so.conf.d/ and then running the command ldconfig to update the system with the new library information. This effort has not corrected the underlying issue.

Before proceeding on to do something monumentally stupid, I felt that I should perhaps ask some folks who know Blender well and are proficient with Linux, specifically Ubuntu, what steps I should take to 1) Solve the issue with Blenderā€™s .desktop file so I may use it to launch the program and 2) More fully integrate Blender into my system (my overarching goal).

Now then, thatā€™s not asking very much on an otherwise peaceful Sunday morning, is it? :eyebrowlift: