UV unwrapping and scaling the islands out of the texture bounds

Hi,

I want to have my models to be exported into a game engine so this is not a question only related to doing nice renders inside Blender.

So I have encountered several tutorials (while not stating being specifically for game engine usage) where the teacher scales some of the UV islands larger than what the texture bounds are (mainly diffuse). This makes it possible to have a “proper” scale, specially with seamless textures, if the islands / model is large and/or the texture a smaller one.

While this looks good when doing a render this do not seem to work at all if the models are exported into Unity / Unreal for instance.

I am still a beginner modeler but I thought unwrapping should always take place inside the texture boundaries. Is this what I should be doing if I want to do it “correctly”? If scaling like this should be avoided, what’s the correct procedure for creating proper scaled textures? To have higher resolution texture? Do some photoshopping so that the islands inside the diffuse texture boundaries are of a correct scale?

Any other insights on this topic?

Cheers, Jax

Bump. Does anyone know anything that could help me understand this?

It’s generally sort of a standard that textures should be repeating if the UV coordinates are outside 0-1 range, it’s most common, but it does depend on the shader and it can be different. They can tile in only one axis and the border pixel values can be extended in the other for example. UVs can be set up any way you want. Their coordinates are meaningless on their own. Any meaning is assigned to them by the shader used. You create UVs for a shader and you need to know exactly how it is going to treat them.

Thanks MartinZ for a reply!