Materials don't appear the same way in different faces

Hi,

I’m still learning - currently my topic is Vertex Groups and material assignment. I got this model in DAE format:

Loaded it in MeshLab and exported it as PLY. Then imported in Blender. I started creating vertex groups and assigning materials. So far so good. But in rendered view, the separate face appear differently although they have the same material. I was thinking, maybe it’s the normals but as far as I can tell, they look OK. If I recalculate normals for a set of faces, it looks even worse… Any hints on what I should look at?

Check the correct material is applied to the correct faces.
I see no link to your blend file
The bottom image indicates that you have inverted face normals.
You should also be applying the object scale to prevent any further issues

@Richard:
Thanks for your reply! I intentionally didn’t include any blend file because the current file is pretty huge and I wanted to avoid people being too nice and fixing the file for me :). I was just after some hints where to go further. I learn best by figuring stuff out myself - just need a hint to the right direction every once in a while.
In the meanwhile I was working on making the lightbar transparent and noticed that it had 2 outer walls. After removing the inner one and splitting it into a separate object, the lightbar, which had the same problem as the chassis, looks good. So I suppose, the chassis also has 2 walls whose normals might have gone haywire. Will continue working and report back :).

1. Did you UV unwrap the doors?
  2. Did you UV unwrap the doors?

Now, I know that’s the same question, but it’s so important, I felt I should ask it twice. :slight_smile:

One other thing…

Working with a triangulated mesh may be tricky. (I’ve never done it, so I can’t even begin to guess at the problems you may face.) I’m mentioning it because this could be part of the problem.

But with all that said…