Armature deform with automatic heights deform my mesh

Hello Im new in the foro, my first language is spanish so sorry if i make mistakes writting.

I have a problem when i try to animate my mesh. I put the bones only in the legs because that is the only part i want to animate, but when i try the “Armature deform with automatic heights” my mesh deform very weird. This is my first rigging so i need help.

Before:

After “Armature deform with automatic heights”

Here i let you the blend file if you want to check it out:

Elephant.blend (600 KB)

Please Help me:(:frowning:

I just encountered a similar issue and thanks to members here, I found the easy fix. You can check my thread a few threads below yours titled: “Need help with automatic weighting problem”.
In my case the problem was unapplied and negative scales (the Z-axis had a negative value on the scale). So I suggest you try this:
1: Select your mesh, hit Ctrl-A and apply scale
2: With the mesh still selected, hit tab to enter edit mode
3: Hit A to select all vertices, Ctrl-N and flip normals or use the “Recalculate outside” option
4: After that, parent your mesh with automatic weights.

Alright I didn’t see your attached blend file originally. So now I went through it and found the problem. All you have to do is, before you parent the mesh:

• Select the armature and enter pose mode
  • Hit Ctrl-A and apply the pose as rest pose
    *Go ahead and parent your mesh using automatic weights

I have attached a screenshot of the successfully parented character posed slightly in a different position using the armature.

Attachments

Automatic weights, not heights.

The mesh is full of mesh errors and it’s not suitable for deformation. You’ll find problematic areas in edit mode by selecting none, and then select menu -> select by trait -> non-manifold (or ctrl+alt+shift+m)

But many of those are visible just by looking at it