[Addon] Editool - toolset for VSE

Hi all blenderheads !

I’m currently writing a new addon to try to make the blender vse more « efficient », which is called « Editool »
I come from an editor’s background (avid media composer) and, of course, blender can’t currently compete with these kind of profesional editing software, that’s not the aim of it, but, matter of fact, it has some good capabilities when it comes to editing !

One of the big problem for me is that the software itself is not properly setup graphically, for example the fact that you have to keep a file browser and a property panel somewhere in the ui.
By doing this, the ui is flowded by unwanted properties, button… from the 3d part of the soft.
And all of that and a certain lake of performance (monothreaded render…) make the editing part a bit clunky (according to me, just an opinion)

So i’m not a coder, but i tried to write some code (not really beautiful i think, sorry about that) to bring all important editing functions to thumbnail of file browser. I write a few of my own and here it is !
Keep in mind this is an alpha version, i have to reorganised all ui, add some functions…
But a lot of stuff are here so i thought let it go out there for potential testers !
Feel free to comment, tell me if you have idea of missing functions… but again, i’m not a coder, and this is an alpha version (pre-alpha ?) so it could be a bit clunky, the code could be lame…

To use it :

1. install like any other addons
  2. turn the addon on in a file browser, under the category Misc

1. it will add two thumbnail in the file explorer, and a timecode window in the n panel of the timeline, the idea is to get rid of other panel, keep only timeline, monitor and filebrowser.

1. and let’s edit !

Here are the main function of the addon :

Thumbnail EDITING TOOLS

BIN TOOLS

• bin tools, set editing filters : this function sets filebrowser filters to show medias only, and set the size and the thumbnails of them

TIMELINE TOOLS