Question: Can Blender Builtin Modules be accessed from an External Interpreter?

I’m just getting into Python and have managed to snake (pun intended) my way through a couple of projects. But, with the number of classes, properties, methods, and what-not else in a Blender Project, it’s just so overwhelming for a beginner.

bpy.data.objects, bpy.context.object.data, bpy.data.objects.name, bpy.context.object.data.materials_slots, etc etc, etc. When do I access What, When or How do I use What, and How do I get That to do This instead of That or print What I Want, When I Want it to. (I would Prefer to learn without Banging my head off the computer desk in frustration.)

I’ve just downloaded the MS Visual Studio Code program which has an extension for Python. I’ve added the path to Blender Python to my USER Path statement so VS Code can find “Python”.

Is it possible to load (import) the Blender BPY (or other builtin) modules into VS Code so I can watch and debug code while I write it and it’s active and have access actual syntax help by hovering the mouse over a command?

Or are the builtins only accessible via the Blender Python Console (in other words there has to be a firm connection to the actual objects within the Blender environment for Python to see the elements of the blender scene?)

I’m looking for a way to be able to walk through my code as I write it, learn the in and outs as I go, with a minimal frustration factor as I learn.

Thanks…

Yes blender Python modules are usually located inside a shared folder , it’s appdata roaming in win if I remember correctly and library application support in macOS . It’s basically where addons are added located to. You can add those to the library paths of your project in the ide of your choice. The best way learning coding with blender Python is using pdb.set_trace() which will stop execution there and open the debugger that will let you test and inspect code as it executes. This way you know exactly what goes wrong.