My first project in Blender

Hello! :slight_smile: This is my first project in Blender. I’d like to know what you think I could improve?
Im aware that the model is not 100% authentic when it comes down to every rivet. I mixed and matched parts from different reference images since I wanted to learn how to model certain parts. Im curious what you think could be made better when it comes to lights, materials and so on.

Im aware that it would probably look better if textured in substance painter. But I’m focusing on learning blender atm, that’s enough of a challenge. :yes:

Attachments

Looks very good, you might want to work on the shadows a bit to give it a more “authentic” look. The cartridges look like they are floating.

Hi and Hello,

The overall look is great and very authentical. Textures are fine (thus some issues… see below). The objects is well, highly detailed. Good work.

Now to the issues:

1. The Trigger Guard

The lower and the inner part has “lost” the general texture/colour. (look at the zoom-in)

This maybe a result of Lightning, render and/or UV-mapping. You should controll this part of the mesh.

1. Wooden parts on buttstock and forarm

The general wood-texture and colour is very well and look natural.
The issue shows up on the displacement.

The bevel-parts are shiny without displacement. The top (and other parts) have two different displacements. A slight one for the wood and a strange “orange-skin-like” displacement as if someone failed to varnish correctly with clearcoat.

The effect shows up also here:

But with a somehow more weight to the wood-structure.

Normally those parts of a gun are polished wood. So You see the wooden structure but no displacements.
But (and there is always a but in critics), if You intended to show a restored version of that gun, it might be actzepable.