How can I use a background image in an animation?

Hi everyone, this is my first project, I’m discovering blender and I enjoy it so far. However, I have a problem and I can’t find an answer online. I did the tutorial from blenderguru on the spaceship. I decided to make a small animation where the camera rotates and follow the spaceship on it’s path, however, the background image doesn’t move with respect to the camera, this completely fakes the movement and render the animation garbage. Anybody knows how you can fix the background with respect to the global coordinates or to the reference frame of the planet (see video)?
thanks

if somebody doesn’t understand my problem, watch my animation here and you’ll see

It depends on how you have added the background. Is this a compositing effect? If so then the world background will not move because it doesn’t know what the camera is doing. You could find a star image big enough to fit on the inside of a dome shape that wraps around both objects in the scene. Alternatively you could map an equirectangular image onto the background like this https://blender.stackexchange.com/questions/8923/how-do-you-use-an-image-as-the-world-background

Hi, thanks for the tip, but it didn’t worked because I had multiple render layers they had to be transparent and the background didn’t appear.
I ended up setting a second scene and created a background on a separate renderlayer and it worked. Howvever, this workaround is not elegant in my opinion, I’m struggling a bit with managing render layers, specially, how do you make a background when you have transparent render layers ?

either way, here is my result so far (I also reduced the glow of the earth while I was at it)

Perhaps you could post a simplified blend file (with temp textures)?