portrait

This is a portrait of Hugh Dancy. I am trying to learn how to make a more realistic portrait.
I can’t quite get the likeness right. And I am just learning. So I would love to get feedback on anything I am not seeing.

When I did this, I used about 3 maybe 4 reference pictures.

Well that is a good start! keep going! just look hard to the references and start fixing, Primary forms is just the most important thing, forget about details, just place everything in his right place, having low poly helps to move things easy.

Thanks, okay yes I was starting to think about details instead of primary forms, will work on it more tonight! Feeling motivated to give this another try. Thank you.

I just saw your portfolio page btw, it looks really good.

Still lots of issues, the mouth needs to be redone. it is lower poly then this, I took the suggestion and decimated the polys to ten & of what they were. But i have a subdivision on just to render it, so it doesn’t look quite as bad.
think I am getting closer with the form, but it has been really hard to figure out how to match the form.
He has Remi from Mr. Robot’s sort of very prominent jaw line, and he has a pretty short face, and it has just been really hard. ;/
Finally I started making small small changes and rendering constantly to make sure I wasn’t making it worse.
The angles by the eyes still have a lot of weirdness. I have been avoiding the eyes, except for here and there. and the mouth, cause they seem hard to do. and the nose.

Nice work so far, Usually when I sculpt a face I keep sculpt symmetry on for the primary forms, and turn it off later once you start secondary (creases/folds) and tertiary fine details (pores, lip creases) Keep going, sculpts take hours.

Yeah I think maybe you should for the time been work with symmetry, and also try to be a bit more clean with your work, there is not need to be doing smooth all the time, but just taking care a bit more of how the surface is looking.