GPU fails to render (Linux Mint 18.2)

EDIT:

The issue is now solved!!! I can now render with the GPU, there are no lags in the view-port, everything is smooth and now I can say the switch from Windows to Linux is a success - at least from the point of view of a Blender Artist :).

Now… where did things go wrong? I guess there were multiple wrong decisions taken by me.

I’m still a novice when it comes to Linux, but for the fellow artists trying to make a similar switch I think you might find the following useful:

1. Make sure the “Compute capacity” of your GPU card is at least 2.0 …I had an old card - the GeForce series but it was luckily above 2.0 . You can check yours here.

2. One thing I forgot to mention in the original post was the edition. It was Linux Mint 18.2 Cinnamon. Which is supposedly, as I found out from other people online, not really fit for Blender GPU rendering (and Blender in general). I might be wrong but after I switched to Xfce things worked and are now apparently faster.

3. 32-bit just doesn’t work. So I switched to a 64-bit Mint installation and that may be one of the reasons things started working (as jensverwiebe and YAFU mentioned, thnx :)). I have a legit explanation as far as my knowledge goes - the CUDA Toolkit is no more available for Linux 32-bit installations. Since nVidia users CUDA extensively, things should not work naturally.

4. Finally, make sure you are using the recommended drivers for your card, because by default Linux selects the open source drivers (which I don’t have much knowledge about) which may result in some bugs. You can change this in the Driver Manager.

A little side note: