My Second Big Project: Locomotive!

The trees and sky are images.

Looking forward to your helpful critiques!

Quick Glance:

1. Denoiser
  2. Principled BSDF for every shader.
  3. Used Filmic color
  4. Modelled everything else except the trees and sky.
  5. Using HDRI and Sun Lamp.
  6. The smoke is generated by smoke simulation.
  7. Hand-painted rust mask.
  8. Full HD resolution
  9. 150 Samples

About the Train: Relatively new. Reference from different locomotive types were used. I basically took my imagination and filled the chassis space with pipes and wires going on. I have no knowledge about train parts.

The smoke at the bottom is actually white (steam smoke), But after compositing, it got yellow, and I don’t know how to correct this.

I am not sure if this compositing is good or bad.

This is a work-in-progress, so all critique is welcomed.

I agree, the lighting looks dim.

For anyone wondering, my first big project was the Forest render (https://blenderartists.org/forum/showthread.php?432965-Forest&highlight=), which I will be updating very seen.

Updated it with more soft and subtle compositing:

It looks good so far! The modeling looks good and the update looks better than the first image. One thing that might add some interest to the render is to add some motion blur similar to this https://blenderartists.org/forum/showthread.php?438048-Steampunk-Grand-Prix.

There is an explanation of how he used motion blur near the bottom of the comments. That would add a little more interest and movement to the image because right now it feels like the train is just sitting still.

The idea is cool! I thought of it and did with directional blur, but the results were unsatisfying.

Frankly, I understood basically nothing from that comment. Just that he parented the train and camera to an empty. But the blur? How?

However, I updated the image with a new background:

I like that background a lot better! It looks more natural.