2.8 Branch update with Cycles CPU/GPGPU rendering together

https://developer.blender.org/D2873

CPU rendering will be restricted to a BVH2, which is not ideal for raytracing
performance but can be shared with the GPU. Decoupled volume shading will be
disabled to match GPU sampling.
Thread priority or GPU sync tweaks are likely needed to improve performance,
but might as well post the patch for testing already. Perfect scaling is not
going to happen due to BVH2 usage though.
Go to User Preferences > System to enable the CPU to render alongside the GPU.

Looks promising. Lets see how it goes.

can we have a link to download the branch please ?

Is this compatible with SMP? (bi xeon platforms for example)

It’s been approved: https://developer.blender.org/D2873

I have yet to see it pull from Master. I don’t build branches with specific diff changes so I have no knowledge of exactly how they are branching testing of such and remerging. I’m not interested in brushing up on git merge and working on several local copies.

I would assume once they recognize the CPU it’s limitations would dictate the threads available for OpenCL based CPU kernels to leverage.

/* Fallback to standard device name API. */
if(name.empty()) {
    name = get_device_name(device_id);
}
/* Distinguish from our native CPU device. */
if(get_device_type(device_id) & CL_DEVICE_TYPE_CPU) {
    name += " (OpenCL)";
}
return name;

}

Will this be merged in current master? Or only 2.8?

I believe it is going into Master first as the source code being effected is the 2.79/master branch. I’m seeing nothing in the properties.py reflecting this feature.

Even though it’s gotten the greenlight I still don’t see it merged.

From what I can tell this is going into 2.79 next revision but getting refined at the moment.

** \file BKE_blender_version.h

• \ingroup bke
    */

/* these lines are grep’d, watch out for our not-so-awesome regex

• and keep comment above the defines.