advice for a green, please [to eevee or not to eevee]

(I’m a noob making first post- so i apologize if this is wrong place!!)

Howdy folks-
I’m interested in Blender, but even more interested in the health of the world [yeah, i’m one of those greens].
I always loved cg but was, and am, not about to buy and run global-warming computer systems to satisfy my lust. Now i hear great things about Eevee’s speed that give me hope.
I realize that running Blender, even with Eevee on a fairly minimal system (ryzen 1500X, GTX 1050) wouldn’t exactly be optimal, but would it be realistic? What kind of experience do you think i’d have? (Example: 5 second, 5 minute, or 50 minute viewport refreshes; 5 minute final renders per complex scene image, or 50 minute…???)
Thanking you for your help in advance…
Suniram

What did the sadist do to the masochist? Nothing.

Just buy any used computer. If energy consumption is your concern, manufacturing a new computer is taking up more energy than using it will: https://www.networkworld.com/article/2229029/data-center/computer-factories-eat-way-more-energy-than-running-the-devices-they-build.html

the goal of eevee is realtime rendering, so i would say anywhere from 24-60 fps would be the target.

but its still early in development so its hard to really know. i would recommend giving it a few more months and see what kind of hardware its running on.

as for realism, dont expect raytracer quality. maybe closer to unity, so think video game quality.

gtx 1000 series is not a requirement, just opengl 3.3(i think). im betting my gtx 970 should be able to render realtime.

Stop eating meat and fish, if you are concerned about the well-being of our planet and its ecosystem. Very simple.

A person who eats meat every day and rides a bicycle to work every day is far less sustainable compared to a vegetarian driving to work in a Hummer.