Problems with tank tracks (Arrray and curve modifier and more...)

Hello,

I am trying to model a T-34 tank. I started with what I though is the hardest part, namely the track.

The track seems to form from little blocks, so I modeled a block…
The best that I could come up with the track chain was this:

That was using an array modifier and a curve modifier following a BezierCircle that I have bended to resemble a track.
Well, as you can see, it is not right: The individual parts of the track are now bending, but the bending should be happening only between the parts as they are rigid.

What is the best way to do this?

Also, an important remark; Even though I tried to model the track part as simply as I could, I still have an enormous amount of vertecies; Even with subserf level of only 1 already 500.000 and I don’t have anything done but the track! I am very new to modelling, but that is much much too many verticies, right? What should I do?

This is the track part:

thanks for your interest!

Don’t use subdivision surface for the tracks, rather use a combination of bevel and edge split for rounded corners and smooth curves.

Tank tracks are a bit on the advanced side, not really newbie friendly. This tutorial should help you out.
<a href=“https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q5fjslhomsI” target="_blank">
https://youtu.be/q5fjslhomsI

Thanks for the reply, the video is also helpful.

Fortunately I am not doing animation, just a static.

Seems though that the track blocks are still distorting with the videos method too, mine was kind of similar. I guess that manual placement of the track blocks is one option, but a lot of work.

I have to experiment with the edge split, I haven’t been using it before…

You can simply animate the part of the track along the spline you made and take a snapshot in a certain distance.

If your problem is with the bending, use duplifaces.

Attachments

2017-10-22 Tank track example.blend (501 KB)