Results 1 to 18 of 18
  1. #1

    Need Array Help *SOLVED*

    I was doing this tutorial but am stuck
    https://blender.stackexchange.com/qu...brick-platform

    If got to:
    Select your brick and add a curve modifier, set the "object" as your curve circle.
    HIT APPLY: You can see the shape changing to semi-circular. Yes I can!

    I have no clue how to do the next step:
    Now in the 1st array modifier, change the fit type to "fit curve"
    There is nothing under my add Modifier, and spent two hours trying to figure this out. Is there a better tutorial to do this?

    Is there a better tutorial to make an array of bricks around a circle?
    Last edited by Guyon; 14-Nov-17 at 14:02.



  2. #2
    Member dudecon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Camarillo, CA, USA
    Posts
    316
    Don't be afraid to click on things, break everything, crash Blender, and start over.
    It was there the whole time, if you had only clicked on it.
    Name:  ArraySettings.jpg
Views: 107
Size:  27.0 KB
    Commissions, 3D prints, and Mechanical Engineering. If you appreciate my contributions, support me on Patreon!



  3. #3
    Member JA12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    4,515
    You haven't provided screenshots and an example .blend of what you're doing so can't help with that.

    Of course it works in the instructions. They don't tell to press apply at any point though.
    New to BA.org and have a support question? Here's how to do that more effectively.



  4. #4
    Member dudecon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Camarillo, CA, USA
    Posts
    316
    Originally Posted by JA12 View Post
    ...They don't tell to press apply at any point though.
    Ahh, good point. If you apply the modifier, it will go away, and then you won't be able to change the settings any more!
    Commissions, 3D prints, and Mechanical Engineering. If you appreciate my contributions, support me on Patreon!



  5. #5
    @dudecon I do not see your Fit Type: fixed count.

    @JA12 I tried the apply with no luck

    If you figure this out please educate me what I am missing.
    Here is my small file
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/dykeevksds...ray.blend?dl=0



  6. #6
    Member JA12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    4,515
    You had applied and/or hadn't added modifiers
    Attached Files Attached Files
    New to BA.org and have a support question? Here's how to do that more effectively.



  7. #7
    Member dudecon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Camarillo, CA, USA
    Posts
    316
    Fixed it. You applied the modifiers. You should not have done that.
    Here's my fixed version:
    Brick array.blend
    I couldn't get it to correctly fit to the curve. Not sure why. Maybe you can sort it JA12?
    Commissions, 3D prints, and Mechanical Engineering. If you appreciate my contributions, support me on Patreon!



  8. #8
    I took a look at the file, there are multiple reasons as to why it won't fit on the curve. One reason is the same reason that Dudecon pointed out, that you applied the modifiers. The main reason however, is that you didn't apply the object's scale. Do that, and your object should properly wrap around the curve.
    "There's a certain logic to avoiding the haters, but as a strategy, it's utterly flawed. When you turn off the feedback, you lose the benefits as well as the drawbacks. It's like having a sore finger and cutting off your arm." ~Rob Manuel



  9. #9
    You guys answers are a little above my head.
    So can you break it down a little? I tried to follow the tutorial as best as I could until I hit the vague spot.

    @dudecon. what did you do to make it work? I need to know so can make it a second one/ and that one a little bigger



  10. #10
    Member Felix_Kütt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Hiiu, Nõmme, Tallinn, Harjumaa, Estonia, EU
    Posts
    4,322
    they are all saying the same thing: you didn't properly follow the instruction, likely because you misread them. Try from the beginning again without hitting apply on modifiers. Instead apply object scales(control + A in 3D view) to make sure all involved objects adhere to 1.0 scale factor.

    btw: that very last scaling step in the instructions you had linked applies to the operation in objects local space(edit mode).
    Last edited by Felix_Kütt; 13-Nov-17 at 23:05.
    FunLinks: . . . . . . .



  11. #11
    Member JA12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    4,515


    Ctrl+A -> scale to apply object scale. When the scale is unapplied, it means you're looking at an object that has different dimensions than its data (mesh), and since modifiers and modeling tools work in object data level, they don't seem to work properly.

    http://pasteall.org/pic/show.php?id=72366
    Last edited by JA12; 14-Nov-17 at 01:03.
    New to BA.org and have a support question? Here's how to do that more effectively.



  12. #12
    That was amazing. Thank you so much JA12. You should make it a real tutorial on youtube as it is someing not easily figured out. You are my hero.

    So I do have a few questions:

    Why did you Copy to All Selections? (6 Seconds)

    When you Scaled (12 Seconds) what is the rule for when you need to do that?


    Again I appreciate the time you took to do this. I am truly would have not done this without you.

    Thanks



  13. #13
    Member JA12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    4,515
    Originally Posted by Guyon View Post
    Why did you Copy to All Selections? (6 Seconds)
    I put the array object to the same location as the curve, so it aligns with it when curve modifier is added
    Originally Posted by Guyon View Post
    When you Scaled (12 Seconds) what is the rule for when you need to do that?
    Didn't scale. Applied scale, ctrl+A, for the reasons I explained earlier
    New to BA.org and have a support question? Here's how to do that more effectively.



  14. #14
    Thank you JA12

    Closed.



  15. #15
    One last thing. When I tried to move the ring it scaled it (instead of moving). What do I do to make it move? I have not texutred it yet, so will there be any issues adding a texture?



  16. #16
    Member Felix_Kütt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Hiiu, Nõmme, Tallinn, Harjumaa, Estonia, EU
    Posts
    4,322
    You mean you tried to move the curve object? Try parenting everything to an empty object and moving that.
    FunLinks: . . . . . . .



  17. #17
    Thanks Felix_Kütt I will look into that. I never did that before. I thought I read patenting was bad, or was that grouping?

    Also I never APPLIED all the mods to the surface. Should I have done that? Or are they usually not applied?



  18. #18
    Member Felix_Kütt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Hiiu, Nõmme, Tallinn, Harjumaa, Estonia, EU
    Posts
    4,322
    depends on what you need but when in doubt do not apply.
    FunLinks: . . . . . . .



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •