Select Ring of Faces?

Blender 2.79 on Windows 10.
I’m just learning blender. I’m a long time users of 3dsMax, Carrara and others.

I’m just trying to learn modelling. So I make a UV Sphere, go into edit and then face select mode.
Rclick selects a face.
Rclick another to select another face.
Shift-Rclick to select some other faces.
A to select no faces.
But I can’t understand what SHIFT - ALT - Rclick is doing.
Doc I found said it adds a RING of FACES in the direction of the click. So pick a face next to the one selected and add a whole ring in that direction around the object. BUT
Sometimes it selects a ring of faces in the correct direction and sometimes it doesn’t. Sometimes it selects a ring in the other direction. :eek:
Have other folks seen this?
Is there some setting that says - “Do something random”?
Is there some other setting that is messing this up?
Thanks a ton,
wg

Aim for the edge of the face in the direction you wish it to go. I mean if you draw a line from the center of the face through the middle of the edge you are cliking on, that’s the direction.

Exactly. Loops and edge ring are all directional, and clicking near the correct edge is how the direction is chosen

1 Like

I’m talking about Face Selection not Edge Selection. Seems like you should be able to click anywhere in an adjacent face to point the way to the direction of the loop of faces that would be selected, but it’s unpredictable as far as I can tell.

I’ll fire up CamStudio and see if I can get a video of the issue I’m see’n. Probably after Turkey day tho. :smiley: I found a program that shows the Keys/Mouse actions on screen so we can see what I’m doing. :RocknRoll: