Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 22
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Barcelona
    Posts
    7

    [Add-on] Blender <-> UVLayout bridge

    Hi Blender Artists community!

    I want to present a Blender 2 Headus UVLayout bridge for UV mapping. It's my first python try , i hope you like it.

    xeuOYhx.jpg

    ---Download---
    gumroad.com

    ---OS Requirements---

    - Windows 8/10
    - Doesn't work on OSX

    ---How-To Setup---

    - Blender>User Preferences >Add-ons>Install add-on from file>Select uvLayout_Bridge.py
    - And it will appeared in UV category.
    - Then you have to make it active and select path to UVLayout in preferences.


    Any feedback or ideas are welcome!
    Last edited by TitusLVR; 10-Dec-17 at 03:38.



  2. #2
    New User renderhjs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1
    Headus UV Layout is awesome, thanks for the addon



  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Barcelona
    Posts
    7
    Hi ! Bug with exit button was fixed.



  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Barcelona
    Posts
    7
    Originally Posted by renderhjs View Post
    Headus UV Layout is awesome, thanks for the addon
    You are welcome! And i'm really glad to heard this from TexTools creator.



  5. #5
    Member rombout's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Curaçao
    Posts
    1,089
    Did some small design wise updates. Still cant get the arguments to work on OSX. Im thinking they cant be passed. Ive tried tons of variations and nothing works. On OX i need to start the plugin direct, so no app start and then add -plugin. That doent work on OSX.

    I had something working for the selection mode only, but i later noticed i ran into a problem when the mesh was imported back. All items got the same UV. So i need to work on that part.

    I also added a piece of code which updates the seams, cause they still show the old seams when new UV is imported. Also changed the icons, these also update when different modes are selected
    Attached Images Attached Images



  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Barcelona
    Posts
    7
    Originally Posted by rombout View Post
    Did some small design wise updates. Still cant get the arguments to work on OSX. Im thinking they cant be passed. Ive tried tons of variations and nothing works. On OX i need to start the plugin direct, so no app start and then add -plugin. That doent work on OSX.

    I had something working for the selection mode only, but i later noticed i ran into a problem when the mesh was imported back. All items got the same UV. So i need to work on that part.

    I also added a piece of code which updates the seams, cause they still show the old seams when new UV is imported. Also changed the icons, these also update when different modes are selected
    Hi there!
    About same UV - it's already fixed, it was a mistake in code.
    Yep about OSX - Problem still there.



  7. #7
    Is anyone able to give an opinion or comparison of Unfold3d and Headus? If you go to 3dmotive there is a course on unwrapping in blender and a comparison of headus and unfold3d. Thanks
    Last edited by bkjernisted; 07-Dec-17 at 11:29.



  8. #8
    Originally Posted by bkjernisted View Post
    Is anyone able to give an opinion or comparison of Unfold3d and Headus? Thanks
    Both has free "try yourself" period so why not download both and make opinion by that? My self I really hate how ugly UVlayout look like which is unacceptable in year 2017 even if the tools are very fast and prolly better than any rivals.



  9. #9
    Member rombout's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Curaçao
    Posts
    1,089
    Originally Posted by fiendish55 View Post
    Both has free "try yourself" period so why not download both and make opinion by that? My self I really hate how ugly UVlayout look like which is unacceptable in year 2017 even if the tools are very fast and prolly better than any rivals.
    90s stuff man, its horrible to move through Hahaha so true, this is freakn system files. I made a comment about that yesterday to them. But the unwrapping is really powerful man, SUPER FAST. So many tricks! Together with all the addons i got for Blender already i can do any job unwrapping.



  10. #10
    Member rombout's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Curaçao
    Posts
    1,089
    I did some more GUI updates, added nice recognisable icon. Also added a check for OSX system so less input is visible which doesnt work at this moment.

    Ive also expanded the function with selection only. If you dont use that function in the old version everything in the scene would be exported, also hidden objects and objects not visible on other layers. Ive now added a sort of temp check which looks what is visible, then temporarily sets selection on and selects those objects. It seem to run fine now, yesterday i had some issues with this cause 2 objects to get the same UV map.


    Still dont have any luck using the -arguments and passing those extras

    In the pref addon panle i added the wiki and docu links to this Blender thread.
    Attached Images Attached Images



  11. #11
    rombout do you know if "smart uv" not smart uv project works in 2.79, or are they the same thing? Thanks



  12. #12
    Member rombout's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Curaçao
    Posts
    1,089
    Did some more work, made a popup menu with shortcut when using fullscreen mode. Faster workflow
    Attached Images Attached Images



  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Barcelona
    Posts
    7
    Hi there ! So here is a small update:
    8fD79OLHSX2N6KrQWughhQ.jpeg
    - Added some export settings (Like rombout did)
    - Added check if Zero objects selected and scene is epmty so it will be no action when you press a button

    PS: for osx no solution yet. I hope it will be.
    PSPS: Hey rombout could you share your version please, i want to take a look how to make pie or other things , because i'm a noob in python.



  14. #14
    Member rombout's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Curaçao
    Posts
    1,089
    Originally Posted by bkjernisted View Post
    rombout do you know if "smart uv" not smart uv project works in 2.79, or are they the same thing? Thanks
    I did see it once, not sure its that handy. This is the the addon, its a paid one i believe and has now issues due to 2.79 update. https://blenderartists.org/forum/sho...83#post3265083

    PS if you want a good addon, check for UV_magic, https://blenderartists.org/forum/sho...00#post3263400


    But this is now in blender 2.79 and uv_tools is also super easy.



  15. #15
    Thank you rombout for the suggestions. The updates you are doing on the headus bridge...are they available in the link in the first thread at gumroad.?



  16. #16
    Member rombout's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Curaçao
    Posts
    1,089
    No there at this point local only, i will put them on gitHub tomorrow if Titus doesnt mind?
    His version should work already, yet i expanded the some functionalities like no selection need, this exports all which is only visible. The apply modifier in blender so mesh can be synced with the uv map. Also added a option to make a backup of the model before mod is applied. Mine has 2 shortcuts, 1 is the popup menu and 2nd is use last setting for quick export.
    Last edited by rombout; 09-Dec-17 at 04:03.



  17. #17
    Member rombout's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Curaçao
    Posts
    1,089
    PS do some of you guys use Marvelouse designer?

    I bumped into some thread somewhere, someone made a little script which records vertice distance and uses this to automatically draw a 2d pattern in Marvelous then using mouse movement. It was a script setup in the text panel, so i converted and expanded it to a nice working panel.

    My problem was, this isnt available on OSX. But i found a nice little app which i can run from terminal and OS so i can use it with Blender.

    It uses drawn curve patterns and draws the exact same pattern in Marvelous automatically. The scale is a bit of but its quite quick it guess. I never really made patterns in MD, but perhaps some people can use this if they have patterns in some other format. Blender can handle quite some vector formats. From there its easy to convert them to a Bezier curve and then we can this tool.

    Here's a small preview.


    Last edited by rombout; 09-Dec-17 at 05:41.



  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Barcelona
    Posts
    7
    it's so wierd because of new user limitation until 10 posts. my messages don't appear at the right moment. So check a header please.



  19. #19
    Member rombout's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Curaçao
    Posts
    1,089
    Originally Posted by TitusLVR View Post
    it's so wierd because of new user limitation until 10 posts. my messages don't appear at the right moment. So check a header please.
    Sorry i dont get what you mean by that



  20. #20
    Member rombout's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Curaçao
    Posts
    1,089
    Originally Posted by TitusLVR View Post
    Hi there ! So here is a small update:
    8fD79OLHSX2N6KrQWughhQ.jpeg
    - Added some export settings (Like rombout did)
    - Added check if Zero objects selected and scene is epmty so it will be no action when you press a button

    PS: for osx no solution yet. I hope it will be.
    PSPS: Hey rombout could you share your version please, i want to take a look how to make pie or other things , because i'm a noob in python.
    WOw if your a Noob t Python you did very well, perhaps you have coding skills. But you did really well. I just wanted more settings. PS why have you made 2 panels now its better 2 kep them in 1. Its confusing when they are divide into 2.
    I dont get why you want such a big send button. Its break with the style of bleneder. looks weird.

    PS what happens now in your version when nothing is selected? In the old version everything got exported. I added code so only visible items are exported, so hidden an layers OFF wont be exported.


    The apply modifiers is also important! You get errors when you import your UVs back. I made a extra option for that part.


    PS we should merge the code, though your GUI looks way different. BUt mine is compact cause it only shows OSX possiblities, on windows it will show more.

    I dont think this panel will work in a pie menu. I hardly use pie menus and i dont think the num menu can be done. Thats why i added a pop window instead.
    Last edited by rombout; 10-Dec-17 at 05:17.



Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •